Cantey Awards Night 2020 – Performance, Volunteer and Youth Awards


Last night, we held our annual Cantey Awards, presented live online. Watch the replay of the livestream on YouTube or our Facebook page.

For this year’s awards, it was decided that since we were not able to complete the full 2019-20 season, we would not give out the usual set of Cantey Awards. Instead, this year, the awards committee and staff selected actors to receive Outstanding Performance Awards to recognize their skills and efforts.

Congratulations on the winners of the 2019-2020 Outstanding Performance Awards:

  • Hakeem Abdur-Rahim as Horton in Seussical TYA
  • Rebecca Blum as Judy in The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time
  • Tyler Graeper as Monty in A Gentleman’s Guide to Love and Murder
  • Michael Larson as Christopher in The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time
  • Valerie Pesot as Antigone in Antigone
  • Tim Poliquin as Snoopy in You’re a Good Man, Charlie Brown
  • Aysia Slade as Raylynn in Blood at the Root
  • Hannah Smith as Fairy Helper in Cinderella
  • Lauren Tompkins as Step Mama in Cinderella
  • Brian Westbrook as the D’ysquiths in A Gentleman’s Guide to Love and Murder

Congratulations also goes to the winners of this year’s volunteer awards and youth initiative awards:

Haskell Fitz-Simons Distinguished Performer Award:

  • Rebecca Johnston

Charles V. York Theatre Service Award:

  • Todd Housekenecht

Glenn Amos Miller Technical Service Award:

  • Amy Blackwell

Ed Bodell Rookie of the Year Award:

  • Deb and Dewayne Hewson

Al D. Wolfheimer Volunteer Awards:

  • Dan Bain
  • Allen Jay Butcher
  • Laurel Drobits
  • Thommie O’Neal
  • Rae Quarles
  • Ben and Chris Rinehart
  • Joyce Rothchild
  • Mallory Schultz
  • Chante Thompson

Youth Initiative Awards:

  • Leah Bason
  • Marji Pendergraft

Heather Strickland and Patrick Torres during the virtual 2020 Cantey Awards