Cantey Award Nominees for the 2016-17 Season


Performance awards have been presented at Raleigh Little Theatre every year since the 1949-50 season. In the 1975-1976 season, the name of the award was changed from “Oscar” to “Cantey” in honor of Mrs. Cantey Venable Sutton, the Grand Dame of Raleigh Little Theatre.

Thank you to all of our volunteers who have worked so hard on each and every production. We’ll announce the winners of each award at the Cantey Awards Night on Wednesday, June 28. Our 2016-2017 Cantey Nominees are…

Best production
Avenue Q
The Whipping Man

Best Performance by an Actor in a Lead Role
Zak Casca as Huey Calhoun (Memphis)
Jesse R. Gephart as Francis Henshall (One Man, Two Guvnors)
Phillip Bernard Smith as Simon (The Whipping Man)

Best Performance by an Actress in a Lead Role
Rebecca Johnston as Katherine (Mothers and Sons)
Aya Wallace as Felicia Ferrell (Memphis)
Brett Williams as Kate Monster (Avenue Q)

Best Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role
Dustin Britt as Alfie (One Man, Two Guvnors)
Chris Brown as Earthworm (James and the Giant Peach)
Bradley Waelbroeck as Rod (Avenue Q)

Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role
Rhonda Brocki as A (When She Had Wings)
Aubrey Clyburn as Meredith Parker (Bat Boy)
Alison Lawrence as Gladys (Memphis)

Best Performance in a Cameo Role
Aubrey Comperatore as Trekkie Monster (Avenue Q)
Lydia D. Kinton as Lucy (Avenue Q)
Rachel McKay as audience plant (One Man, Two Guvnors)