RLT's box office & business office will be closed on Wednesday, June 19, in observance of Juneteenth.

The nefarious Cat in the Hat narrates the story of Horton the Elephant, who discovers a speck of dust containing tiny people called the Whos. Horton must protect the Whos from a world of naysayers and dangers, and he must also guard an abandoned egg that’s been left in his care by the irresponsible Mayzie La Bird. The powers of friendship, loyalty, family, and community are challenged but ultimately emerge triumphantly!

Seussical TYA (Theatre for Young Audiences) is an adapted 75-minute version of the musical, created specifically for younger audiences.

February 14 – March 1, 2020
Cantey V. Sutton Theatre

Music by Stephen Flaherty
Lyrics by Lynn Ahrens
Book by Lynn Ahrens and Stephen Flaherty
Co-Conceived by Lynn Ahrens, Stephen Flaherty, and Eric Idle
Based on the Works of Dr. Seuss

Directed by Kathleen Rudolph

View the photos by Elspeth McClanahan


The Cat in the Hat: Hayden Tyler
Jojo: Maddie Behrens
Horton the Elephant: Hakeem Abdur-Rahim
Gertrude McFuzz: Brynna Rosenberg
Mayzie La Bird: Julia Walsh
Sour Kangaroo: Gabriele Gavin
The Wickersham Brothers: Emory Blum, Danny Wang, Noah Zimmermann
Mr. Mayor: David Thomas
Mrs. Mayor: Whitley Lynn
Bird Girls: Paula Andrews, Cadence Lora, Rachel Veazey
Ensemble Claire Fellows, Grace Kelly, David Mills, David Morrison, Nic Sanchez, Zoe Wright

Production Team

Director: Kathleen Rudolph
Assistant Director: Michelle Corbitt
Musical Director: Darylene Hecht
Choreographer: Susan Hill
Production Manager/TD: Dennis R. Berfield
Assistant Technical Director: Tyler Elrod
Lighting Designer: Thomas Matrejek
Scenic Designer: Bob Santaniello
Sound Designer: Todd Houseknecht
Costume Designer: Jeremy David Clos
Hair & Wig Designer: Rebecca Nelsen
Make-Up Designer: Ruth Berry
Props Master: Sohpie Holmes
Scenic Painter: Kylee Silvas
Stage Manager: David Watts
Assistant Stage Managers: Gerrie Kouri, Barbara Witherwax
Production Assistants: Zoe Watts, Lexi Willbrand


Set Construction Crew: MacKenna Barefoot, Dustin Bowles, Luke Butler, LaRena Collins, Chris Fellows, Todd Fellows, Steve Gerney, Maribel Legbaah, Rachel Makepeace, Amanda McCloskey, Duane and Debbie Hewson, Chris and Ben Rinehart, Joanna and Jacob Shires, Cassandra Skarr

Thursday crew: Noel Butzke, Dave Davis, Clay Farabee, Don Gillett, Gene Harshbarger, Charles Hart, Debbie & Duane Hewson, Don Miller

Costume Shop Crew: Jenny Mitchell (Manager), Bryan J. Bunch (Wardrobe Assistant), Mary Ali, Tama Ardolino, Angela Balazich, Barbara Biggs, Ann Boivin, Janice Freeman, Sam Frigerio, Ann Haigler, Linda Hames, Nathania Johnson, Danielle Kingberg, Catherine Lambe, Barbara Liemgruber, Jessica Pullen, Mallory Schultz, Debbie Sherrod, Lauren Ward, Danielle Welch, Gráinne Wilson, Kathy Mauney, Bonita McPherren

Deck & Props Crew: Abby Truett (crew chief), Dan Bain, Declan Barker, Jason Barker, Molly Jarman, Michaela McCreary, Rebecca Samuell, Steve Shay, Cassandra Skaar, David Wilk, Qiana Yang

Light & Follow Spot Crew: Howard Kushner (crew chief), Gabriela Berndt, Luke Butler, Barbara Corbin, Nicole Dolphin, Dan Eckert, Nikki Floyd, Alexander Matta, Amber Schnur, Sarah Wallace, Zoe Watts

Sound Crew: Rae Quarles (crew chief), Paul Hirtle, Kiron Rakkar, Justin Stepney, CarlyAnn Underwood

Dresser Crew: Aliana Ramos (crew chief), Marie Berry, Heather Carithers, Beth Castle, Claire Huene, Nora Kelly, Kirsten Lora, Valerie Pymento, Kelly Watson, Megan Woronka

Hospitality Crew: Chris Fellows (Coordinator), Cherie Behrends, Windy Edwards, Kristen Hale, Eamonn Kelly, Bebe Mills, Chantal Wright, The RLT Board of Directors

House Managers: Jaret Preston (Coordinator), Laurel Drobits, Herb Estes, Howard Estes, Morgan Harris, Freyja Helmer-Sindemark, Sheila Marsh, Thommie O’Neal, Joel Schaer

Audition Crew: Marie Berry (Coordinator), Amy Blackwell, Barbara Corbin, Judy Keyes, Catherine Lambe, Julie Snee

Audio Describers: Fred Brack, Lisa Brady, Susi Michalue